The South African Metal Music Awards 2018 Nominees Announced

The South African Metal Music Awards

The South African Metal Music Awards was born in 2014 out of a desire to honour the hard work of South African metal music, a genre often overlooked in conventional awards ceremonies.

A key objective includes building a strong sense of South African pride in the Metal which this nation produces, and to encourage bands and fans from different parts of the country to become familiar with great music and entertainment from other cities.

The SAMMA team comprises of various volunteers who all want to see the South African metal scene and industry grow both within our borders, and then to the greater world. What better way to showcase this, than an awards ceremony that acknowledges the bands who have worked hard to produce a great product!

In the build up towards the SAMMA’s ceremony, the team aims to showcase the top five nominated bands in as much media as possible – both locally and internationally.

The procedure of how a winner is determined is no small feat. All nominations have to meet strict criteria and undergo a vigorous elimination process by both the public and an a panel of well-known judges – all within the South African metal music industry, including event promoters, sound engineers and journalists.

The 2018 South African Metal Music Awards ceremony will be held at Rumours Rock City on the 7th April 2018.

This is always a beloved event, as South African Metalheads, musicians and other industry people from as far afield as Cape Town, Port Elizabeth and Durban suite up for a night of spectacular performances, awards, photos in front of the media wall and a celebration of our bands among their peers.

The Top 5 Nominees for each category are:

Best Music Video

  1. L.A.Cobra – War
  2. Nerve Zero – Torture Chamber
  3. Ohgod-Hungry Ghosts
  4. Red Helen – Ode To The Corrupt
  5. Mezzanine Floor – Behold! Luca

Best Single

  1. Nerve Zero – Torture Chamber
  2. Megalodon – Sanctum
  3. My Columbine – Vigorish
  4. DevilSpeak – Unearth Hell
  5. Ohgod – Hungry Ghosts

Best EP

  1. Disarmageddon – Contagion
  2. Last One Alive – Last One Alive
  3. The Fallen Prophets – Death Conquers Lif
  4. Technopath – Ontology
  5. Ruff Majik – A Finch in a Cherry Tree

Best Album

  1. Megalodon – Illusion of Origin
  2. Deadline – Black Wolf City
  3. Ohgod – The Great Silence
  4. Red Helen – Trading Past for Pathways
  5. Kings of Improg – Henosis

Best Live Band

  1. Deadline
  2. Megalodon
  3. Ohgod
  4. Riddlebreak
  5. Red Helen

Best Newcomer

  1. Hiraeth
  2. Disarmageddon
  3. Last One Alive
  4. 13th Empire
  5. Abaddon

Best Metal Event

  1. Krank’d Up 2017
  2. Ragnarok 2
  3. M4A Summerfest’17
  4. Wacken Metal Battle SA: The Finals 2017
  5. Metal Feast 2017

Best Death Metal

  1. Nerve Zero
  2. DevilSpeak
  3. My Columbine
  4. The Fallen Prophets
  5. Maximum Carnage

Best Black Metal

  1. Adorned in Ahs
  2. Nebula Disrupt
  3. Sinister Superstar
  4. Spectral Realm
  5. Wildernessking

Best Old School Metal

  1. Deadline
  2. L.A. Cobra
  3. Disarmageddon
  4. The Slashdogs
  5. De Wallen

Best Core Metal Band

  1. Red Helen
  2. Boargazm
  3. Truth and It’s Burden
  4. Treehouse Burning
  5. 13th Empire

Best Alternative Metal Band

  1. Deity’s Muse
  2. Dirty Moonshine
  3. Aimed At You
  4. With Dawn
  5. Last One Alive

Best Progressive Metal band

  1. Ohgod
  2. Megalodon
  3. Kings of Improg
  4. Mezzanine floor
  5. Technopath

For more information and regular updates please visit Facebook

Tags : SAMMASouth African Metal Music Awards
Elizabeth Meko

The author Elizabeth Meko

Born as Mojabeng Elizabeth Meko, Emjay is an experienced writer and communicator who uses presenting, hosting, MC-eeing, and acting as her chosen medium. Her passion and quality has seen her address people of private events to crowds in their thousands. A born natural, her talent is perfect for lifting any occasion beyond the standard of "just good."

Leave a Response