2017 Simon Mabhunu Sabela Awards

Hard work does pay off.  After months of hard work by the judges, going through just over 100 entries from the industry, the Simon “Mabhunu” Sabela Film and Television Awards winners were announced last night Saturday 15 July, during the 5TH Annual Simon Sabela Film Television Awards, a glamorous event held at The Playhouse in Durban.

The awards were attended by the crème de la crème of the film and television industry including celebrities and representatives from the African continent such as Kenya and Nigeria, as well government officials from other provinces.

“We would like to congratulate the 2017 winners of the prestigious Simon Sabela awards. The Sabela’s continue to grow from strength to strength, an indication that the KZN film industry is moving in the right direction.  The amount of support from our partners has been phenomenal, in addition the newly formed partnership with LUX, will go a long way in ensuring that women filmmakers get motivated to excel in their craft. Once again, congratulations to all the winners, we look forward to another exciting instalment in 2018 where the stakes will be even higher, especially in categories such as best use of KZN as a location as we have seen a lot of funded productions coming out on circuit in 2017.”says CEO Carol Coetzee.

The following emerged as winners in 2017

Best Emerging Director  Kundai Vera Stranger Danger
Best Actress – TV  Nomzamo Mbatha Isibaya
Best Actor – TV Siyabonga Thwala        Isibaya
Best Supporting Actress – TV Gcina Mkhize Isibaya
Best Supporting Actor – TV Andile Mxakaza Isibaya
Best Newcomer   Linda Mtoba Isibaya
Best Student Film  Amandiya
Best Documentary Feature  The Scar of Seven Day War
Best Documentary short  Durban Beach Rescue
Best use of KZN as a location Inkinga Isibongo
Best IsiZulu Film Buchitheke Bugayiwe
Best Screenplay Umfelokazi
Best Microbudget Film Ikhaya Lami
Best Feature Film Happiness is a Four-letter Word
Best Newcomer Actress (Film) Ayanda Mngoma   Imbali ka Baba
Lifetime Achiever Mikhail Peppers

The Simon “Mabhunu” Sabela Film and Television Awards are an initiative of the Department of Economic Development, Tourism and Environmental Affairs and are implemented by the KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission.

About KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission

The KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission is a provincial state entity, under the Department of Economic Development, Tourism and Environmental Affairs (EDTEA), in the Province of KwaZulu-Natal South Africa established in terms of the KwaZulu-Natal Commission Act, 2010 (Act No 3 of 2010). Its mandate is to facilitate support throughout the value chain to the local and international film industry through creating opportunities and also growing the KwaZulu-Natal film industry.

Era Baloyi

The author Era Baloyi

Era Baloyi is a Copywriter, Social Media Manager, Public Relations and Communications practitioner who is Co-Founder and CEO of Fame Africa TV. He's been with Fame Africa TV since 2014 and he's seen how the magazine grew. He focuses more on entertainment, music and movie reviews.

Leave a Response